21.—Legislatures and Premiers of Saskatchewan 1934-57 and Ministry as at Apr. 1, 1957

Legislatures 1934-571

Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution
8th	4	Nov. 15, 1934	May 14, 1938
9th	6	Jan. 19, 1939	May 10, 1944
10th	5	Oct. 19, 1944	May 19, 1948
11th	5	Feb. 10, 1949	May 7, 1952
12th	4	Feb. 12, 1953	Apr. 25, 1956
13th	2	Feb. 14, 1957	2
	8th 9th 10th 11th 12th	Legislature of Sessions Sth	Legislature of Sessions First Opening 8th

¹ The Ministries from 1934-57 were: 6th Ministry sworn in July 19, 1934 under the leadership of Hon. J. G. Gardiner; 7th Ministry sworn in Nov. 1, 1935 under the leadership of Hon. W. J. Patterson; 8th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1944 under the leadership of Hon. T. C. Douglas. ² Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 1, 1957.

Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 20, 1956: 36 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 14 Liberals and 3 Social Credit.)

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development. Minister of Mineral Resources. Minister of Highways and Transportation. Minister of Education. Minister of Aunicipal Affairs. Minister of Auricipal Affairs. Minister of Labour and Minister of Tele- phones. Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation Minister of Natural Resources. Attorney General. Provincial Secretary and Minister of Travel and Information Minister of Publie Health. Minister of Publie Works. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. T. C. DOUGLAS Hon. C. M. FINES HON. J. H. BROCKELBANK HON. J. T. DOUGLAS HON. J. T. DOUGLAS HON. L. F. MCINTOSH HON. L. F. MCINTOSH HON. C. C. WILLIAMS HON. T. J. BENTLEY HON. A. G. KUSLAK HON. R. E. WALKER HON. R. BROWN HON. J. W. ERB HON. J. W. ERB HON. J. K. STURDY	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Feb. 26, 1945 Nov. 14, 1949 Oct. 24, 1952 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 Aug. 31, 1954	(July 10, 1944 Nov. 14, 1949 July 10, 1944 Apr. 1, 1953 July 10, 1944 Aug. 4, 1948 (July 10, 1944 Aug. 4, 1948 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 Apr. 1, 1957 July 27, 1956

NOTE.-See headnote to Table 15.

Subsection 9.-Alberta

The Government of the Province of Alberta is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor, the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly. The Honourable Dr. John J. Bowlen, Lieutenant-Governor at Mar. 31, 1957, was commissioned to office Feb. 1, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 96.

There are 61 members of the Legislative Assembly who are elected for a maximum period of five years.

The salary of the Premier is \$11,000 and of a Cabinet Minister \$8,500. A special allowance of \$2,500 is paid to the Leader of the Opposition. The sessional indemnity for each Member of the Legislative Assembly is \$2,400 plus an expense allowance of \$1,200.